Back to All Events

Hilary Hahn

In the two decades since her professional debut, three-time Grammy Award-winning violinist Hilary Hahn has brought her virtuosity, expansive interpretations, and creative repertoire choices to diverse global audiences. Her first Grammy win came in 2003 for her Brahms and Stravinsky concerto album. A recording pairing the Schoenberg and Sibelius concerti spent 23 weeks on the Billboard classical chart and also earned Hahn her second Grammy. In 2010, she released Jennifer Higdon’s Violin Concerto along with the Tchaikovsky concerto. Higdon’s piece, written for Hahn, went on to win the Pulitzer Prize. Encompassing a range of repertoire including Bach, Stravinsky, Elgar, Beethoven, Vaughan Williams, Mozart, Schoenberg, Paganini, Spohr, Barber, Bernstein, Ives, Higdon, Tchaikovsky, and many others, Hahn’s recordings have received every critical prize in the international press and all have debuted in the top ten of the Billboard classical chart. The acclaimed album In 27 Pieces: the Hilary Hahn Encores won Hahn her third Grammy Award at the 57th annual ceremony last February.

Accompanying Hahn is pianist Cory Smythe, who was recently praised by the Washington Post for “…the ferocity and finesse of his technique” and who collaborated with Hahn on the Grammy-winning album In 27 Pieces: the Hilary Hahn Encores. Smythe has also been a featured guest and soloist with many new music ensembles throughout the United States, including Milwaukee’s Present Music.

The April 23 program at the Wilson Center will include:

W.A. MOZART (1756-1791) Violin Sonata No. 27 in G Major, K. 379
  - Adagio
  - Allegro
  - Andantino cantabile
  - Allegretto

J.S. BACH (1685-1750) Violin Sonata No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1005  
  - Adagio
  - Fuga
  - Largo
  - Allegro assai

ANTÓN GARCÍA ABRIL (b. 1933) Selection from Six partitas for solo violin

AARON COPLAND (1900-1990) Sonata for Violin and Piano
  - Andante Simplice
  - Allegro
  - Lento
  - Allegretto Giusto

TINA DAVIDSON ( b. 1952) Blue Curve of the Earth